The Steelers Rule

Posted: 05/26/2011 in NFL News, Team News

Recently, the NFL has passed a rule, saying that if players excessively hit other players illegally, their teams will be punished. The name of this rule? The Steelers Rule.

The rule in and of itself is bad enough, does the name really have to target one team? I’m not going to sit here and whine about the name though. I think the Steelers’ defensive players should be proud. I mean, the rule is named what it is because of Pittsburgh’s fierce style of defense. As far as I am aware, no other team can say their defense scares the commissioner and the rule-making committee. I think the rule should be called the “we-are-scared-of-the-Steelers’s-defense-so-we-are-going-to-make-rules-against-the-way-they-play-the-game” rule. Although, I don’t think it’s going to catch on…

Alright, back to the actual rule. I am not in favor of the contents of the rule, as I think that punishing the teams will not stop the injuries.

I believe the best way to combat the injuries of the players is to make them take certain actions to improve and maintain their health. Also, if you want my opinion, (which, if you are reading my blog, I’m sure you do) new rules should be enforced and new equipment should be used. I know, I know, I know, you just heard me say “I don’t like this new rule” and “we need more rules” in the same paragraph. However, I don’t like this rule because it is punishing the TEAMS for the PLAYERS’ mistakes.

(I did not expatiate to write about the specific actions I would make the players take or the new rules I would impose because I have a persuasive speech assignment in English class which talks about these, and I will be posting it as soon as it is finished.)

Comments
  1. Fabius Gnaeus Maximus says:

    I think it makes sense: diseases are named after their first victim. With that kind of logic, it’s reasonable to say that the rule should be named after the Steelers, who inspired it.

    • That is a very good observation; however, in this case, the rule isn’t naming the victim, but the so-called perpetrator. If it were to be named after the first victims, it should be called “The People Who Can’t Take A Hit Rule”.

  2. Fabius Gnaeus Maximus says:

    Very true…

Leave a Reply

